Visit Sites Rural Visit Sites Rural

Go to:     Ministry of Panchayati Raj




Ranga Reddy district is located in Andhra Pradesh
Ranga Reddy district
Location in Andhra Pradesh, India
Coordinates: 17.20°N 78.280°ECoordinates: 17.20°N 78.280°E
Country  India
State Andhra Pradesh
Region Telangana
 • Collector & District Magistrate  
Population (2001)
 • Total 3,575,064
 • Density 473,000/km2 (1,230,000/sq mi)
 • Official Telugu
Time zone IST (UTC+5:30)
PIN 500 xxx
Telephone code 91-
Climate Aw (Köppen)
Precipitation 603 millimetres (23.7 in)
Avg. annual temperature 26.0 °C (78.8 °F)
Avg. summer temperature 45.9 °C (114.6 °F)
Avg. winter temperature 23.5 °C (74.3 °F)


Rangareddy District, formerly known as K. V. Ranga Reddy District and Hyderabad (Rural) District, is a district in the state of Andhra Pradesh, India. It was formed in 1978 when it was split from Hyderabad district. The district has an area of 7,493 km², and a population of 3,575,064 of which 54.20% is urban as of 2001.The district encircles the city and district of Hyderabad, and the city of Hyderabad also serves as the administrative center of the district. It is the most populous district of Andhra Pradesh (out of 23).The district has 1055 villages and grouped in 37 mandals.


Originally named Hyderabad (Rural) district, it was renamed after Konda Venkata Ranga Reddy, a freedom fighter who fought for the independence of Telangana from the Nizams and who went on to become the deputy chief minister of Andhra Pradesh.


Ranga Reddy District occupies an area of approximately 7,500 square kilometres (2,900 sq mi),comparatively equivalent to Papua New Guinea's New Ireland.A fresh water reservoir, called Osman Sagar, on the river Musi at Gandipet is the prime drinking water source to the capital city of Hyderabad.


In 2006 the Indian government named Ranga Reddy one of the country's 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640). It is one of the thirteen districts in Andhra Pradesh currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).

Assembly Constituencies

There are 14 assembly constituencies in Ranga Reddy district. They are Medchal, Malkajgiri, Qutbullapur, Kukatpally, Uppal, Ibrahimpatnam, L B Nagar, Maheshwaram, Rajendranagar, Serilingampally, Chevella, Pargi, Vikarabad and Tandur.


According to the 2011 census Ranga Reddy District has a population of 5,296,396, roughly equal to the nation of Finland or the US state of Minnesota. This gives it a ranking of 17th in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 707 inhabitants per square kilometre (1,830 /sq mi) . Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 48.15%. Rangareddy has a sex ratio of 955 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 78.05%.